ANU SOA&D Glass students, alumni and staff selected for Hindmarsh Prize 2017

Wednesday 19 April 2017

Fifteen artists who have and are currently studying and working at the ANU School of Art Glass Workshop have been shortlisted for the 2017 Hindmarsh Prize.

Initiated in 2016 by arts patron Mr John Hindmarsh AM in partnership with Canberra Glassworks, the prize is dedicated to celebrating contemporary glass from Canberra and the surrounding region.

The 2017 Hindmarsh Prize will be judged by a panel including Dr Gerard Vaughan AM, Director of the National Gallery of Australia, Eva Czernis-Ryl, Curator at the Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences, Ewan McEoin, Senior Curator of Contemporary Design and Architecture at the National Gallery of Victoria, Rebecca Evans, Curator of Decorative Arts at the Art Gallery of South Australia, and Jane Cush, Program Director at Canberra Glassworks.

The winner will be announced at 6pm on Friday 9th of June, and will receive a $5,000 cash prize and a four week residency at Canberra Glassworks.

The exhibition of finalists will be held from 9 – 19 June 2017 at the Fitters Workshop, Kingston.


Image: Masahiro Asaka, Surge 19, cast glass, 2014. Photograph: Rob Little

Updated:  21 April 2017/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications