SOA 2016 Award winners

Niklavs Rubenis, 'LL Bench Seat', wood, metal, cord, 2080 x 550 x 740mm, 2016
Niklavs Rubenis, 'LL Bench Seat', wood, metal, cord, 2080 x 550 x 740mm, 2016
Wednesday 26 October 2016



The ANU School of Art is pleased to announce the successful recipients of the 2016 Graduate Materials Award in Visual Arts and the 2016 Graduate EASS Patrons HDR Award (formerly known as the EASS Patrons Graduate Scholarship). These awards assist SOA Graduate students who can demonstrate how the funding will assist their approved study program.







The successful recipients are:

Graduate Materials Awards in Visual Arts

Leah Bullen, PhD, Painting

Donald Fortescue, PhD, Sculpture


Leah Bullen, Something like forgetting, 2016, monotype, gouache and watercolour on paper, 57 x 149 cm

Donald Fortescue, On the level, #2, 2013, recycled Redwood, 68 individual sculptural objects suspended in an array



EASS Patrons HDR Award

Bifei Cao, PhD, Gold & Silversmithing

Michal Glikson, PhD, Painting

Niklavs Rubenis, PhD, Furniture



Bifei Cao, A jar?, 2016, Australia brand baby milk powder, Wood glue, Baby oil, Pigment, Copper, Silver plated copper, Nylon thread, Including thread: 68 mm x 115mm x 495mm, Just object: 68mm x 115mm x 120mm, 93.9g Michal Glikson, Kangaroo (detail), Australind, scroll II, Australind Archive, 2015, watercolour, oil, collage, papercut, gold leaf on paper, 20 x 12000 cm (entire scroll) Niklavs Rubenis, LL Bench Seat, 2016, Re-used materials found on the side of the road, Existing metal frame, wood (various species), cord
2080 x 550 x 740mm


We wish all the candidates the best in the progress of their research projects.

To find out more about the winning artists please visit their websites:

Leah Bullen – and

Donald Fortescue -

Bifei Cao –

Michal Glikson – no details

Niklavs Rubenis - and

Information about the Awards

These awards are open @ June/July of every year and promoted to current students through the Wattle Graduate Student community website.

Updated:  31 October 2016/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications