2022 Emerging Artist Award Scheme (EASS) recipients announced

Photo: Gemma Fischer
Thursday 1 December 2022

The Australian National University (ANU) School of Art & Design’s successful Emerging Artists Support Scheme (EASS) has been operating for over thirty years, conceived in 1988 by then Director of the School, Gordon Bull. Many of our patrons have supported School of Art & Design undergraduate and postgraduate students during this period. Through this scheme, patrons award prizes, scholarships and commissions, and acquire artworks for their collections.  

This year, the EASS Awards were presented at the opening of the Graduating Exhibition on Friday 25 November. Many of our patrons and valued supporters were able to attend and personally award each student with their coveted prize.

The School would like to congratulate the following recipients of the 2022 EASS award;

Bradley Allen Love Lawyers Acquisition Award
Janet Jeffs, Savannah Wheeler

Emerging Artist Support Scheme Acquisition Award
Ashley Hoye

Drill Hall Gallery ANU Art Collection Acquisition Award
Molly Desmond, Nathan Nhan

ACT Legislative Assembly Prize
Nathan Nhan, Yalan Chen

Alliance Française Exhibition Award
Dominic Gowans, Georgia Claridge, Joanne Mahler-Fenderson, Juniper Maffescioni, Yalan Chen

ANCA Exhibition Award
Bridget Baskerville, Helen Stark

ANU MakerSpace Graduate in Residence Award
Yasmin Roussidis

Art Monthly Australasia Subscription Award
April Widdup, Dominic Gowans

Belco Arts Exhibition Award
Isobel Kennedy

Canberra Contemporary Art Space Exhibition & Mentoring Award
Bridget Baskerville

Canberra Grammar School Studio Residency Award
Niamh Armstrong, Juliette Baxter

Canberra Museum and Gallery Ramp Showcase Award
Nathan Nhan

Canberra Potters' Society Residency Award
Molly Desmond

Canberra Potters' Society Exhibition Award
Adeline Jeffery, Molly Desmond, Nathan Nhan, Alicia Cox

Canberra Spinners and Weavers Exhibition Award
Clementine Belle McIntosh, Eilis Fitt, Georgia Chalmers

Country to Coast Residency & Durras Hall Exhibition Award
Molly Desmond

COX Architecture Prize
Sophia Childs

Craft ACT Emerging Contemporaries Exhibition Award
Dominic Gowans, Gabriela Renee, Juniper Maffescioni, Matthew Freeman, Molly Desmond, Nathan Nhan

Eckersley's Art & Craft Materials Award
Eilis Fitt, Molly Desmond

Gallery of Small Things Award
Alicia Cox, Janet Jeffs, Jonathon Zalakos

M16 Artspace Residency and Exhibition Award
Clementine Belle McIntosh, Jonathon Zalakos

Megalo Print Studio Graduate Residency Award
Eilis Fitt, Emily April O'Neill, Philip Mudin, Siobhan O'Connor

NAVA Ignition Prize for Professional Practice
Kate Rice

PhotoAccess Residency Award
Emily April O'Neill, Jemima Campey

Anita McIntyre Residency Award, presented by Strathnairn Arts Association
Nathan Nhan

Studio Altenburg Exhibition Award
April Widdup, Isobel Kennedy, Juniper Maffescioni

Thor's Hammer Sustainability Award
Bridget Baskerville

Tributary Projects Exhibition & Mentorship Award
Ella Myer, Eilis Fitt, Adelaide Butler

Tuggeranong Arts Centre Exhibition Award
Georgia Claridge

Tuggeranong Arts Centre Curatorial Award
Poppy Thomson



studio studio Residency Award
Georgia Claridge, Juniper Maffescioni

Goulburn Regional Art Gallery Exhibition Award
Clementine Belle McIntosh

The ANU School of Art & Design greatly appreciates this support from the ACT community. Such generous sponsorship from individuals, families, local businesses, the corporate sector and arts organisations represents assistance for graduating artists when it is most valuable – at the beginning of their independent studio practice. The scheme also plays a significant role in encouraging emerging practitioners to remain in the region, and residencies and exhibition opportunities offered by local arts organisations play a key role in building Canberra’s wealth of practising artists. 

Image gallery

Updated:  1 December 2022/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications