Higher Degrees by Research

The School of Art and Design supports Higher Degrees by Research (MPhil and PhD) across Visual Arts, Design, and Art History and Curatorial Studies. The School’s HDR offerings are part of programs offered by the Research School of Humanities and the Arts within the College of Arts and Social Sciences. Both full-time and part-time study options are considered. Higher Degrees by Research offer students the opportunity to undertake detailed investigation on a substantial project amid a vibrant research community. With supervisory support, students are able to work within and beyond traditional methods researching visual art, design innovation, and art historical and curatorial scholarship.

HDR students work under close supervision of academic staff in their discipline area, producing either a Thesis in Standard Format (as a dissertation up to 100,000 words; 60,000 for MPhil) or a Thesis by Creative Works. A Thesis by Creative Works comprises studio research outcomes and a written exegesis (30,000 words or more) that are presented together as a coherent contribution to knowledge. Subject to the nature of the research project, the School supports hybrid options where a combination of studio research and a dissertation of up to 60,000 words constitutes the thesis. Curatorial research and outcomes that culminate in original contributions to knowledge are also supported.

In addition to domestic and international scholarships, HDR candidates at the School are eligible to apply for fieldwork and conference funding, as well as grants towards the cost of materials. Students are required to complete 12 units of coursework (two standard 9000-level courses in areas relevant to their research) and are given the opportunity to participate in regular seminars and workshops on campus. Researchers have opportunities to participate in Canberra’s arts networks across national cultural institutions, and University, city and territory-specific arts organisations, in addition to artist-run spaces and commercial galleries.

 

How to apply

Prospective applicants are encouraged to visit the ANU webpage Domestic and International Applications - ANU Postgraduate Research which provides general information applicable to all applicants and guidance on how to prepare an application. Further information on applications to the School’s programs is available under PhD and MPhil applications in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences:

Doctor of Philosophy, RSHA

Master of Philosophy, RSHA

The School of Art & Design’s HDR Convenor is Associate Professor Chaitanya Sambrani email: hdrconvenor.soa@anu.edu.au

Search by first (given) or last name.

Elliot Bastianon

Higher degree by research
School of Art & Design

elliot.bastianon@anu.edu.au

Rebecca Blake

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

rebecca.blake@anu.edu.au

Allyson Crimp

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

allyson.crimp@anu.edu.au

Sophia Dacy-Cole

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

Melita Dahl

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

Marian Drew

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

u7087125@anu.edu.au

Lucie Folan

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

u3065000@anu.edu.au

Rowena Hall

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

Sarah Hodge

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
Centre for Art History & Art Theory

sarah.hodge@anu.edu.au

Anne-Marie Jean

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

anne-marie.jean@anu.edu.au

Julian Laffan

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

Julian.Laffan@anu.edu.au

John Landt

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

john.landt@anu.edu.au

Lara Nicholls

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

lara.nicholls@anu.edu.au

Si Ming Pang

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

siming.pang@anu.edu.au

Pages

Search by first (given) or last name.

Bec Bigg-Wither

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

Rebecca.Bigg-Wither@anu.edu.au

Michele England

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

Michele.England@anu.edu.au

Tina FiveAsh

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

tinafiveash@gmail.com

Emma Langridge

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

emma.langridge@anu.edu.au

Jane Theau

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

jane.theau@anu.edu.au

Bic Tieu

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

Bic.Tieu@anu.edu.au

Blanche Tilden

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

blanche@blanchetilden.com.au

Elefteria Vlavianos

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

Elefteria.Vlavianos@anu.edu.au

Miho Watanabe

Higher Degree by Research Candidate
School of Art & Design

Miho.Watanabe@anu.edu.au

Updated:  25 January 2024/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications