Alumni Finalists in the Archibald, Sulman and Wynne Prizes

Images left to right: Dionisia Salas, 'with spent mouths' (detail) oil on canvas, 97 x 96.8 cm John R Walker, 'Vinbana-Yura-Mulka (Breakneck Gorge) I' (detail) oil on polyester, 260 x 197 cm Danie Mellor, 'A portrait of intimacy' (detail) acrylic on board with gesso and iridescent wash, 93 x 60 cm
Monday 22 May 2023

The Archibald Prize for portrait painting is the country’s favourite and most significant art award. Since 1921, it has highlighted figures from all walks of life, from famous faces to local heroes, reflecting back to us the stories of our times.

The Wynne Prize is awarded to the best landscape painting of Australian scenery, or figure sculpture, while the Sulman Prize is given to the best subject painting, genre painting or mural project in oil, acrylic, watercolour or mixed media.

Each year, the trustees of the Art Gallery of New South Wales judge the Archibald and Wynne, and invite an artist to judge the Sulman.

Special congratulations to alumni of the ANU School of Art & Design, Finalists in this year’s Archibald, Wynne and Sulman Prizes.

The following alumni are Finalists in the Sulman Prize - Rebecca Marshall, Michael Phillips and Dionisia Salas. Danie Mellor is both a Finalist in the Archibald and Wynne Prize, and graduated with a Doctor of Philosophy in Visual Arts in 2005. Clare Thackway is also a Finalist in the Archibald this year. Wynne Finalists include John R Walker and Louis Pratt.

We send our sincere congratulations to all the Winners and Finalists selected this year.

More information via links below;
Archibald Prize 2023

Wynne Prize 2023
Sir John Sulman Prize 2023

Updated:  22 May 2023/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications