Graduating Exhibition Emerging Artist Support Scheme (EASS) Awards 2011

Hannah Quinlivan, Marking time, tracing memory, 2011 (detail)
Hannah Quinlivan, Marking time, tracing memory, 2011 (detail)
Thursday 15 December 2011

Award Recipients Listed


The Canberra Eye Hospital Exhibition Opportunity Award
• Ruby Green
• Cecelia Ng
• Andrew Babington

The Eckersley’s Art & Craft Materials Award
• Hannah Bath

The Canberra Museum and Gallery Showcase Exhibition Award

• Merryn Sommerville

Hiroe and Cornell Swen Hand-building Award

Ashley Bauman

Australian Decorative and Fine Arts Society Canberra Young Arts Award
• Amy Hick
• Sarah Carlson

Australian Decorative and Fine Arts Society Canberra Founders Award 25th Anniversary
• Sairi Yoshizawa

John and Elizabeth Baker Sculpture Scholarship
The nominated student for this scholarship is:
• Roger Jillard

Embassy of Spain Torres Travelling Scholarship

• Merryn Sommerville


The Peter and Lena Karmel Anniversary Prize
• Hannah Quinliven


Exhibitions and Residencies


Ampersand Duck Broadside Residency• Merryn Sommerville
• Louise Upshall

Bega Valley Regional Gallery Exhibition Award
• Haeli Van Veen


Belconnen Arts Centre exhibition Award• Harry Townsend
• Janet Long
• Leonie Gill

Belconnen Gallery, now known as ‘gallery@bcs’ Exhibition Award
• 1st Place Allison Chaplin
• Runner up Tom Farrell
Sculpture Group exhibition award (collect your certificates from Waratah after the ceremony)
• Bryn Jones
• Elissa Lee
• Roger Jillard
• Gina Chapman


Textiles Group exhibition • Louise Coxon
• Sairi Yoshizawa

Strathnairn Arts Association Exhibition Award
Presented by Anita MacIntyre
• Roger Jillard
• Gavin Jackson

Canberra Grammar School Exhibition Award• Hannah Quinliven
• Tilden Eldridge Bassett
• Roman Stachurski

Canberra Potters Society joint exhibition Award
• Lucas Boswell
• Erin Kocaj
• Melinda Brouwer
• Amy Hick


Alliance Française Exhibition Award• Sairi Yoshizawa
• Melinda Brouwer
• Eadie Newman
• Sarah Bainbridge

ANCA Exhibition Award
Presented by Jacqui Bradley
• Ashley Bauman


The Front Gallery Exhibition Award• Hannah Quinliven

Craft ACT : Craft and Design Centre Exhibition Award
The Craft ACT: Craft and Design Centre EASS recipients have been selected to showcase their work in the Centre's national exhibition, Emerging Contemporaries.
• Christine Atkins
• Sarah Murphy
• Sarah Carlson

Canberra Glassworks
• Annabelle Davidson


Megalo Print Studio Residency• Hannah Quinliven
• Patrick Larmour
• Ed Hogan

Canberra Contemporary Art Space Residency and Exhibition
• Roman Stachurski
• Hannah Bath
• Ruby Green
• Patrick Larmour
• Holly Granville-Edge


CCAS / Debra PorchDebra Porch, convenor of Fine Arts at Queensland College of the Arts has donated her CCAS artist fee to an emerging ACT artist, and the artist is:
• Roman Stachurski

PhotoAccess Residency and Exhibition Award
• Holly Granville-Edge
• Jack Brandtman


PhotoAccess Exhibition Award• Travis Heinrich

M16 Exhibition and Residency Award
• Christine Atkins

National Film and Sound Archive Professional Mentorship Award• Jack Brandtman

Jas Hugonnet Gallery exhibition award
• Eadie Newman



There were a number of patrons who purchased work under the EASS scheme.  The following students have all had their artwork acquired -

Hannah Bath, Annabelle Davidson, Hannah Quinliven, Hardy Lohse, Jake Silvestro, Sue Banks, Elizabeth Ficken, Bryn Jones, Erin Kocaj, Gabby Soulsby, Allsion Chaplin, Tom Farrell, Francis Kenna, Ruby Green, Janet Long, Allana Masterson, Cecelia Ng, Helen Swords.



NAVA Ignition Prize for Professional Practice The NAVA Ignition Prize consists of NAVA membership, Theory in Practice Series and The Art Censorship Guide
• Louise Coxon

Art Monthly Subscription Award 
• Rowena Boyd
• Jemima Parker


Canberra Spinners and Weavers Guild• Sairi Yoshizawa
• Rachel Bickovsky


Updated:  17 July 2020/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications