Recipients of the prestigious Fulbright scholarships

2024 Fulbright Scholarships. Top row: Professor Ray Lovett, Dr Anna Raupach, Dr Connor O’Meara. Bottom Row: Dayle Stanley, Sophia Grace Ridolfo, Madeleine Gordon, Chiara Cementon. Image: Fulbright Australia
Tuesday 6 February 2024

Seven exceptional members of the ANU community will head to the United States this year with prestigious Fulbright Fellowships. 

The cohort – one of the largest for ANU in recent years – includes researchers, professional staff and graduates from across the University.

Since 1949, the Fulbright Program has provided funding for close to 6,000 Australian and American students, scholars, and professionals to undertake impactful programs of study and collaborative research exchange. 

One of the ANU researchers heading to the US is Professor Ray Lovett, from the ANU National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health, who has been awarded a Fulbright Indigenous Scholarship.

Professor Lovett, who leads Mayi Kuwayu, the National Study of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Wellbeing at ANU, will be hosted by Harvard University where he will research Indigenous health outcomes in both the US and Australia.

He will use his Fulbright scholarship to advance and share Indigenous public health data rights transnationally.

“My Fulbright aims to advance Indigenous health and wellbeing data processes through working with Native American scholars and communities in the United States,” Professor Lovett said. 

“This will include sharing Indigenous data development and implementation processes from Australia to help Native American colleagues and communities in advancing their data development, compilation, and infrastructures concerning public health.”

Dr Anna Raupach, from the ANU School of Art & Design and a multi-disciplinary artist with a focus on climate change, will use her Fulbright Scholar Award to study how satellites produce and disrupt environmental data at the University of Southern California. 

“My Fulbright project will explore the cultural implications of satellites through cross-disciplinary creative arts practice,” Dr Rapauch said. 

“Using a variety of art forms, my research will investigate the omnipresence of satellites that both produce and disrupt environmental data to critically address the socio-political issues of increasing network technologies under crowded skies.”

Other ANU 2024 Fulbright Scholars include: 


  • Dr Connor O’Meara from the ANU John Curtin School of Medical Research who will research revolutionary new techniques for early identification of head and neck cancer at the University of Virginia.


  • Dayle Stanley from the ANU National Security College who will explore the long-term trends shaping the future of the Indo-Pacific at the Centre for Strategic and International Studies.


  • Sophia Grace Ridolfo, an ANU graduate in astronomy and astrophysics, who will undertake PhD research on the origin and build-up of chemical elements in the birthplaces of stars, and their connection to the evolution of galaxies.


  • Madeleine Gordon, an ANU graduate in international security, politics, philosophy and economics, who will research how Australia can uplift cybersecurity and mitigate the devasting effects these attacks have on the nation’s security, economy and wellbeing.  


  • Chiara Cementon, an ANU graduate in science, who will undertake a Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering to explore and design new technologies for a cleaner, more sustainable future.


Learn more about the Fulbright program online at 

Updated:  15 February 2024/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications