Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence

Monday 29 November 2021

The ANU School of Art and Design’s commitment to student learning has been recognised in the 2021 ANU Vice Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence in Education. These annual awards celebrate the exceptional contributions of teachers and educational innovators at ANU.
Dr Christina Clarke received the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence in the early career category. As a lecturer in Art History and Theory, Christina is a passionate educator whose teaching practice aims to maximise student engagement and deep and sustained learning through pedagogical and technological innovation, particularly in the courses Issues in Contemporary Craft and Design (ARTH2167/6167) and After the Bauhaus: Design from the Interwar Period to the Age of Climate Crisis (ARTH2043/6043).
Dr Amanda Stuart and key First Nations cultural contributors Ms Alison Simpson and Mr Shane Herrington were nominated for the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence on the strength of their collaborative teaching approach towards the Balawan and Buugang Environment Studio courses (ARTV2921/6921). These two courses aim at providing undergraduate and postgraduate students from across ANU with meaningful learning opportunities that reveal the depth and vibrancy of Aboriginal culture. Key values of respect, reciprocity and shared cultural learning are central to course objectives and emergent outreach programs.
Dr Erica Seccombe was nominated for the Vice-Chancellor’s Citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning. She is recognised for her innovative contribution to the cutting-edge course, Art in the Digital Age (ARTH2162/6162), which equips students with critical knowledge of the impact of digital technologies on contemporary art and life.
To read more about these prestigious awards and nominations for the 2021 Recognising Excellence: Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Excellence in Education, the booklet is now available online.


Updated:  29 November 2021/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications