Current & former Head of Ceramics both shortlisted for the Sidney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award

Julie Bartholomew, Anthropogenic Scrolls, 2018, thrown porcelain and cast glass, 90 x 110 x 18 cm and 1280 x 100 x 18 cm.
Thursday 23 May 2019

Dr Julie Bartholomew (Head of Ceramics, ANU School of Art & Design) and Greg Daly (former Head of Ceramics ANU School of Art & Design) have both been shortlisted for the Sydney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award.

The Sydney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award is one of the most prestigious awards in the visual arts in Australia, with a uniquely ceramic focus.  It has evolved over its many year history.  It began in 1991 as the Sidney Myer Fund Australia Day Ceramic Award, and evolved into the Sidney Myer Fund International Ceramic Art Award in 1997, with the aim of providing an unprecedented opportunity for a major international ceramic award and exhibition in Australia.

In 2009, Shepparton Art Museum reviewed the Award, and it returned to a format that showcases and supports contemporary Australian artists.  The Award now celebrates and promotes contemporary Australian artists working in the ceramic medium.  With ceramics increasingly adopted by a number of emerging and established contemporary artists, as recent exhibitions nationally and internationally have highlighted, the possibilities for the medium has significantly expanded.

The exhibition of the finalists will be on display at Shepparton Art Museum from the 22 June - 1 September 2019. The winner will be announced at the exhibition opening Friday 21 June 2019.

For  more information on the Award and a full list of finalists, please see the Shepparton Art Museum website. 

Updated:  24 May 2019/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications