Graduating Exhibition Emerging Artist Support (EASS) Awards 2020

Monday 14 December 2020

The 2020 Emerging Artist Supporting Scheme Awards were announced on Friday 11 December. Invited guest and SOA&D alumni Dr Gregory Hodge delivered a short speech and awards were presented by Professor Denise Ferris, Head of the School of Art & Design and Dr Beck Davis, Lecturer and incoming Head of School.

The Emerging Artists Support Scheme (EASS) is unique to the SOA&D and has been operating for over thirty years. Through this scheme patrons can award prizes, scholarships and commissions, and acquire artworks for their collections. Our School greatly appreciates this support from the ACT community.

The opportunities presented through EASS can often lead to career changing outcomes for our Graduates. Awards alone do not lead to success, but these awards can make a difference.

Such generous sponsorship from individuals, families, local business, and corporate sector and arts organisations represents assistance for graduating artists when it is most valuable – at the beginning of their independent studio practice. The scheme plays a significant role in encouraging emerging practitioners to remain in the region, and residencies and exhibition opportunities offered by local arts organisations play a key role in building Canberra’s wealth of practising artists.

The School of Art & Design thank all of our supporters who make these awards possible.


Official Awards & Scholarships ($1,000)

School of Art & Design Drawing Prize: Duncan Currie

The Janet Wilkie Memorial Prize for Introduction to Art History and Curatorship – nominated student: Eleanor O'Toole

The Janet Wilkie Memorial Prize for Art History and Curatorship – nominated student: Jessica Benter

Official Awards & Scholarships ($1,001 - $4,999)

Max Hawk Travel Grant: Zoe Bilston

Kate and Bill Guy Art History and Theory Honours Prize – nominated student: Caitlin Hughes

Gray Smith and Joan Scott Prize – nominated student: Chin-Jie Melodie Liu

The Janet Wilkie Memorial Prize for Art History and Theory Honours – nominated student: Caitlin Hughes

D & M Williams Travel Grant: Matthew Lund

Official Awards & Scholarships ($5,000 - $9,999)

ANU School of Art & Design Graduate Materials Awards in Visual Arts (Harris Hobbs): Bic Tieu

ANU Visual Arts Endowment Scholarship - Visual Arts - nominated student: Chantelle Qiao-Yu Ly

ANU Visual Arts Endowment Scholarship - Design - nominated student: Isabella Wright

John and Elizabeth Baker Design Award - nominated student: Natsuko Yonezawa

Nigel Thomson Travel Grant: David Liu

Westende Travel Grant: Ashley Roxburgh

EASS Patrons Honours Scholarship in the School of Art: Chin-Jie Melodie Liu


Emerging Artist Support Scheme (EASS) Awards and Prizes

ACT Legislative Assembly Prize 

The recipient of the ACT Legislative Prize has a work exhibited at the ACT Legislative Assembly for the coming year and receives a cash prize. The recipients of the award are selected by Madam Speaker Joy Burch.

Patrons: Madam Speaker Joy Burch; art advisor Merryn Gates; Joanne Cullen, Education & Engagement ACT Legislative Assembly.

- Greta Cooper

- David Liu


Altenburg Gallery 

Solo exhibition at Altenburg Gallery, Braidwood.

With thanks to Patron Cecile Galiazzo, Altenburg & Co

- Zoe Bilston

- Millie Black


ANU Makerspace Graduate in Residence Award

This is a new award for 2020, generously made possible by Saskia Morris and John Debs from ANU Makerspace.

- Olinda Narayanan


ANCA Exhibition Award

Solo exhibition at ANCA Gallery in 2021

- Jonathon Zalakos


Art Monthly Australasia Subscription

2 year Subscription to Art Monthly Australasia

- Olinda Narayanan

- Dom Szabo


Belco Arts Centre Exhibition Award

2021 solo exhibition at Belco Arts

- Ashley Cullen


Canberra Museum and Gallery Ramp Showcase Award

2021 exhibition in the Ramp Showcase, working with CMAG Senior Curator Virginia Rigney

- April Davis


Canberra Spinners and Weavers Award 

Exhibition at Textile Works Gallery and artist talk in February 2021, one year membership of Canberra Spinners & Weavers, $50 discount on one of CSW workshops in 2021.

- Millie Black 

- Olinda Narayanan

- Gaynor Hodder


Cox Architecture EASS Prize

Exhibition at Cox Gallery, and cash prize.

 - Andrew Jaffray


Craft ACT: Craft and Design Emerging Artist Award 

Craft ACT: Craft + Design Centre’s Emerging Artist Award, winning inclusion in our highly-respected Emerging Contemporaries exhibition and free general membership to Craft ACT.

- Olinda Narayanan

- David Liu

- Jonathon Zalakos

- Millie Black

- Annalise Fredericks


Drill Hall Gallery Acquisition Award for the ANU Art Collection

- Millie Black


Eckersley's Art & Craft Materials Award

Materials voucher generously offered by Eckersley’s Art & Craft

- Ashley Cullen


Gallery of Small Things

Group exhibition and mentoring provided by Gallery of Small Things owner Anne Masters

- Nate Lee

- Gwendolyn Courtney

- Chin-Jie Melodie Liu

- Sasha Beattie

- Jane Bodnaruk

- Greta Cooper


Kin Outstanding Graduate Award

Professional development opportunity awarded by Kin Gallery owner (and SOA&D alumna) Ingrid Penc

- Jonathan Zalakos


M16 Artspace Residency & Exhibition Award 

6 month residency and exhibition award

- Bronte Bell

- Adrian Olsen


Megalo Print Studio & Gallery Residency Award 

- Zoe Bilston

- Chin-Jie Melodie Liu

Megalo Print Studio & Gallery online exhibition award

- Sanne Carroll


PhotoAccess Residency Award

- Aloisia Cudmore


Tributary Projects Exhibition Award 

Solo exhibition at Tributary Projects

- Ruijing Cui

- Olinda Narayanan


Tuggeranong Arts Centre Exhibition Award

Solo exhibition 

- Alexa Malizon


Peter and Lena Karmel Anniversary Prize (nominated student)

- Joshua Ophel



Updated:  14 December 2020/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications