Graduating Exhibition Emerging Artist Support Scheme (EASS) Awards 2013

Chris Sutevski - tool=spoon, input=N, feedback=Y (detail), 2013, etching, 80cm x 60cm
Chris Sutevski - tool=spoon, input=N, feedback=Y (detail), 2013, etching, 80cm x 60cm
Thursday 13 March 2014

Awards, Prizes and Scholarships

The Peter and Lena Karmel Anniversary Prize

  • Chris Sutevski

ACT Legislative Assembly Prize

  • Harrison Tucker, ACT Legislative Assembly Prize

  • Kael Stasce, ACT Legislative Assembly

Special Mention

  • Martin Rowney

Boronia Award

  • Tim Wallace

  • Ruth White

John and Elizabeth Baker Sculpture Scholarship

  • Deidre Pearce

Leuckenhausen Award

  • Yasmin Masri

Paul Ross Bambury Award

  • Llewellyn McGarry

Hiroe and Cornell Swen Hand-building Award

  • Verney Burness

National Film and Sound Archive Professional Mentorship Award

  • Elliot Schultz

Special mentions

  • Dominic Aldis

  • Peter Bailey

Australian Decorative and Fine Arts Society Canberra Young Arts Award

  • Anna Sutherland

New Awards

The ANU School of Art is very pleased and grateful to have the support of ongoing Patrons as well as new Patrons of the Emerging Artist Support Scheme.

Canberra City Framing Gallery – Kaori Gallery Exhibition Award

  • Anna Sutherland

Design Institute of Australia Student Encouragement Award

  • Nellie Peoples

  • Anna Sutherland

  • Aaron Garlick

  • Peter Bailey

Fivefold Studio Outstanding Graduate Award – solo exhibition and gallery representation

  • Rebecca Hinwood

University of Tasmania’s Tasmanian College of the Arts Summer School Award

  • Melanie Sweetnam


As part of the EASS program, there were a number of works of art purchased by Patrons for private or corporate collections. The following students have all had their art work acquired:

Hayley Lander, Amelia Davies-Bramley, Nigel Hinder, Sacha Jeffrey, Joel Arthur, Julie Barnett, Adele Rae Cameron, Yioryios Papayioryiou, Shaun Hayes, Maria Kunz, Rebecca Hinwood, Clare Jackson, Bronwen Maher, Debra Jurss and Fran Meatheringham.


NAVA Ignition Prize for Professional Practice 

  • Sara Hellsing

Art Monthly Subscription Award  

  • Shaun Hayes

  • Ginger Bottari

Canberra Spinners and Weavers Award

  • Ruby Berry

  • Anna Sutherland

Materials Awards

Thor’s Hammer

  • Maximillian Mackenzie Davey

The Eckersley’s Art & Craft Materials Award

  • Dominic Aldis

Fyre Gallery Award

  • Clare Jackson

Clay Works

  • Shaun Hayes

Walkers Ceramics

  • Julie Barnet

Ceramic Art & Perception

  • Verney Burness

Ceramics Technical

  • Fran Romano

Australian Ceramic Journal

  • Jenny Harris

Exhibitions and Residency Awards

Canberra Glassworks

  • Sara Hellsing

Tuggeranong Art Centre Artist Exhibition Award

  • Fredrika MacKenzie

Belconnen Community Centre Gallery@BCS  Exhibition Award

  • Daniel Savage

 ‘Springboard’ Group Exhibition (works from ANU Grad Show )

  • Sarah Nathan-Truesdale

  • Ashleigh Clayton

  • Tiffany Roweth

  • Sophie Penkethman-Young

Ampersand Duck Broadside Residency

  • Christopher Twiney

  • Metaxia Coustas

Bega Valley Regional Gallery Exhibition Award

  • Adele Rae Cameron

Belconnen Arts Centre exhibition Award

  • Maria Kunz

  • Anna Sutherland

 Strathnairn Arts Association Residency Award

  • Shaun Hayes

Strathnairn Arts Association Group Exhibition Award

  • Debra Jurss

  • Charles Walker

  • Jenny Harris

  • Shaun Hayes

  • Jen Fullerton

Canberra Grammar School Exhibition Award

  • Tobias Clack

  • Nigel Hinder

  • Kael Stasce

Canberra Potters Society joint exhibition Award

  • Fran Romano

  • Tania Roberts

  • David Leake

  • Julie Barnett

Canberra Potters Society residency Award

  • Verney Burness

Alliance Française Exhibition Award

  • Melanie Sweetnam

  • Andy Mullens

  • Cheng Zeng

  • Madeleine Bishop

The Front Gallery and Café Exhibition Award

  • Adele Rae Cameron

Jas Hugonnet Gallery exhibition award

  • Zoya Godoroja-Prieckaerts

Muringo Residency & Electric Wall Award

  • Alicia Wing Yip

ANCA Exhibition Award

  • Amelia Davies-Bramley

PhotoAccess Residency and Exhibition Award

  • Octavio Alvarado

  • Sophie Penkethman-Young

PhotoAccess Exhibition Award

  • Danny Wild

  • Ngaio Fitzpatrick

  • Li Qiu

M16 Exhibition and Residency Award

  • Jen Fullerton

Craft ACT : Craft and Design Centre National Design Exhibition Award

  • Shaun Hayes – Ceramics

  • Bernard Benny – Furniture

  • Tim Wallace – Furniture

  • Sara Hellsing – Glass

  • Nellie Peoples – Gold and Silver

  • Amanda Herzman – Textiles

Craft ACT: Craft and Design Centre POD Award

  • Harrison Tucker – Furniture

  • Andrew Carvolth – Furniture

  • Anna Sutherland – Textiles

Megalo Print Studio Residency

  • Chris Sutevski

  • Clare Jackson

  • Christopher Twiney

Canberra Contemporary Art Space Residency and Exhibition

  • Sabrina Baker

  • Anja Loughhead

  • Jacob Potter

  • Daniel Savage

  • Danny Wild

  • Chris Sutevski

The Canberra Museum and Gallery Ramp Showcase Exhibition Award

  • Amanda Herzman

Sturt: Australian Contemporary Craft & Design Residency Award

  • Bernard Benny

Updated:  17 July 2020/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications