Graduating Exhibition Emerging Artist Support Scheme (EASS) Awards 2014

Image: Caren Florence - Graduating Exhibition Emerging Artist Support Scheme (EASS) Awards, 2014
Image: Caren Florence - Graduating Exhibition Emerging Artist Support Scheme (EASS) Awards, 2014
Tuesday 2 December 2014

The School of Art is very proud of our Emerging Artist Support Scheme, otherwise known as EASS. Patrons of EASS come to a special preview of the graduating exhibition and offer a range of awards and prizes to our graduates - anything from subscriptions, cash and materials through to exhibitions and residencies. Both EASS and our many fine patrons play an integral role in keeping the Canberra art scene vibrant and exciting, and we're very pleased to see our graduates launch out into the world with so many rich prospects ahead of them.


Larah Nott, Christine Ramsey, Yioryious Papayioryiou, Joel Arthur, Sally O’Callaghan, Madisyn Zabel, Kael Stasce, Nick Adams, Tamsin De Meillion, Marina Hanser, Jed Wolki, Kon Kudo, Hayley Lander, Rowan Kane, Ellie Windred, Amelia Zaraftis, Allison Bennett and Isabelle Mackay Sim



NAVA Ignition Prize for Professional Practice - Ruby Berry

Australian Wood Review - Andrew Carvolth

Art Monthly Australia – Fairlie Pearce; Adam Livingstone

Canberra Spinners and Weavers – Ruby Berry; Janet Ranken

Design Institute of Australia – Christine Bricknell; Hannah Veikkanen; Zoe Brand; Stephanie Hutchison

Ceramic Art & Perception - Allison Bennett

Ceramics Technical - Susan Hewat

Australian Ceramic Journal - Agnieszka Berger


Materials Awards

Thor’s Hammer Materials Award – Chelsea Lemon

The Eckersley’s Art & Craft Materials Award – Estelle Briedis Spelman

fYRE Gallery – Jenna Vincent

Clay Works – Richilde Flavell

Walkers Ceramics - Mark Saunders


Exhibition and Residency Awards

Canberra Glassworks Residency award – Nick Adams

Tuggeranong Arts Centre exhibition award – Belle Palmer; Fredrika Rose

Belconnen Community Centre Gallery@BCS Exhibition Award - Janet Angus

‘Springboard’ Group Exhibition (works from ANU Grad Show) - Chloe Gray; Caitlin Kozman; Andy Mullens; Rebecca Worth

Ampersand Duck Broadside Residency - Millan Pintos-Lopez; Ellie Windred              

Belconnen Arts Centre exhibition Award - Anton Poon; Hayley Lander; Yioryios Papayioryiou

Strathnairn Arts Anita McIntyre Award for Ceramics (residency and exhibition) - Richilde Flavell

Strathnairn Arts Residency Award - Ursula Schiemer

Strathnairn Arts Exhibition Award - Yioryios Papayioryiou; Hwa Soon Clare Ryu; Gemma Sue; Hannah Gason

Canberra Grammar School Exhibition Award - Fredrika Rose; Tom Buckland; Hayley Lander; Luis Power

Canberra Grammar School Residency Award - Fredrika Rose; Luke Yates

Canberra Potters Society exhibition Award  - Agnieszka Berger; Isabelle Mackay Sim; Mark Saunders; Sue Hewat

Canberra Potters Society residency Award - Isabelle Mackay Sim; Richilde Flavell

Alliance Française Exhibition Award - Mark Saunders; Georgia Black; Tamsin de Meillion, Yioryios Papayioryiou

The Front Gallery and Café Exhibition Award - Janet Ranken; Rebecca Selleck

ANCA Exhibition Award - Ruby Berry

PhotoAccess Residency and Exhibition Award - Chloe Gray; Rebecca Worth

PhotoAccess Exhibition Award - Ellen Hewitt; Kon Kudo

M16 Exhibition and Residency Award - Amelia Zaraftis

Craft ACT Exhibition Award - Chelsea Lemon; Marina Hanser; Richilde Flavell; Zoe Brand

Craft ACT: Craft and Design Centre POD Award - Hannah Veikkanen

Fivefold Studio Outstanding Graduate - Harriet Lee Robinson

Megalo Print Studio Residency - Fairlie Pearce; Helen Blue; Christopher Burton

Canberra Contemporary Art Space Residency and Exhibition - Dierdre Pearce; Isobel Rayson; Joel Arthur; Hayley Lander; Kael Stasce; Chris Burton

Sturt: Australian Contemporary Craft & Design Residency Award - Andrew Carvolth

The Canberra Museum and Gallery Exhibition Award - Millan Pintos-Lopez


Awards & Prizes:

Boronia EASS Prize - Isabelle Mackay Sim; Chelsea Lemon; Katie Fisher; Larah Nott; Estelle Briedis Spelman

Boronia Prize for Excellence - Allison Bennett; Rohan Hunt; Hannah Gason; Zoe Brand; Peter Kongmalavong

Paul Ross Bambury Award - Deirdre Pearce

ACT Legislative Assembly Prize (Vicki Dunne, Madam Speaker of the ACT Legislative Assembly has chosen the artists for this award) - Harriet Lee Robinson; Joel Arthur

Hiroe and Cornell Swen Hand-building Award - Allison Bennett

Australian Decorative and Fine Arts Society Canberra Award - Isabelle Mackay Sim


New Awards:

CAPO Curatorial Award - Hannah Webb; Ella Morrison

Cox Architecture Prize - Millan Pintos-Lopez

Form Studio and Gallery exhibition award - Helen Blue; Chris Burton; Edwina Leeper; Clare Peters

Leta Gallery + Project Space - Janet Angus

University House Acquisition Award - Estelle Briedis Spelman; Siobhan Fitzpatrick; Rose Townsend

The Sydney Canvas Company Prize for Painting - Joel Arthur

Canberra Mentorship Award - Isobel Rayson to be mentored by Sam Small; Kael Stasce to be mentored by byrd; Ruby Berry to be mentored by Megan Jackson; Millan Pintos-Lopez to be mentored by Peter Vandermark

Patsy and Kevin Payne School of Art Prize - Alycia Moffat

The Peter and Lena Karmel Anniversary Prize  - Joel Arthur

Updated:  17 July 2020/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications